Pliskova Smashes Umpire's Chair After Loss At Italian Open

Share

Karolina Pliskova smashed a hole in the umpire's chair in anger after a contentious line call late in her loss to Maria Sakkari in the second round of the Internazionali BNL d'Italia. The point happened in the final set when Pliskova was serving a 30-30 and five games all.

Sakkari grabbed that opportunity with both hands and successfully served out the match for a 3-6, 6-3, 7-5 win as the embittered Pliskova failed to produce any fightback.

But the drama didn't end there - after the players shook hands, Pliskova then took a number of big swings with her racquet against the umpire's chair, taking a chunk out of its side.

No fine was announced and USA Today reported that the Women's Tennis Association had not responded to queries regarding the incident, but event organizers have been clamping down on tennis players for unsportsmanlike conduct.


During the match Pliskova had argued with the official on several occasions and after her furious reaction the Times says her coach Tomas Krupa "stuck his middle finger up at live TV cameras" and her twin sister Kristyna called for Mrozinska to be "blacklisted".

The decision prompted fury from fans online, some calling for the umpire to be removed from their position, whilst some claimed Pliskova went too far in her actions.

"Nothing justifies destroying the umpire's chair".

Share