Papers of 227 candidates valid


After the mainstream political parties chose to defy the boycott diktat and contest the election, NSCN-IM had made a veiled threat, stating that any national worker found "defying the decision of the Naga people would face serious consequences as per the Ajha (decree) of the government".

Today is the last date of filing nominations for the elections.

"257 nomination papers filed for Nagaland Assembly elections were scrutinized by the respective Returning Officers, where 227 nomination papers were found valid and 29 were found invalid", said Additional Chief Electorate Officer N. Moa Aier. Mokokchung district led as the highest with 48 candidates who filed nomination papers for 10 Assembly seats.

As only two days left for the withdrawal of the names from the candidature, seven names have surfaced those who have withdrawn their names from the poll fray.

The Congress may reach out to the Naga People's Front (NPF) for an informal understanding in some seats for the February 27 Nagaland assembly polls, sources in the party said.

Chief Minister T R Zeliang has filed his papers from 7-Peren constituency, Mr Rio from 11-Northern Angami-I A/C and former chief minister K L Chishi from 32-Atoizu seat. Both Rio brothers will be contesting on NDPP tickets.

Until about a week ago, almost all political parties, including the Congress, had jointly decided against contesting the elections. There is a likelihood that the Assembly will for the first time have a woman legislator.#.

"Out of the total of 19 nominations filed by BJP candidates, the party could win between three to six seats, while the (BJP's ally) Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) might win a maximum of eight seats out of the 38 seats it is contesting", Nienu said at an election rally.