All set to hold bye-election at NA 120 today


NA-120 was left vacant after the disqualification of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif by the top court and now his wife is running for for the seat.

In a massive setback to Nawaz Sharif, the Pakistan Supreme Court on Friday dismissed the review petitions filed by the deposed Prime Minister and his children against the July 28 Panama Papers judgement.

Extra police personnel would be deployed on polling day at all stations in addition to deployment of Rangers and Army personnel, added police sources.

The polling will start at 8 am and conclude at 5 pm without any break.

As many as 44 candidates are in the run although key contestants are Begum Kulsoom Nawaz representing Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz, Dr. Yasmin Rashid of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf and Faisal Mir of Pakistan Peoples Party.

"Some 30,000 voters will be polling their votes on biometric machines", Dawn reported.

The Election Commission of Pakistan has for the first time introduced biometric voting on trial basis at 39 polling stations. There are more than 320,000 registered voters in the constituency.

Kalsoom Nawaz has not taken part in the electioneering since she is under treatment for her cancer disease in London.

Maryam had said yesterday that the people will cast the vote in favour of Begum Kulsoom with a pledge that they will not allow anyone to insult the ballot. She led rallies, held public meetings and conventions where she received big public response.

Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has finalized all arrangements to hold bye-election in NA-120 Lahore-III in a free, fair, transparent and peaceful manner on Sunday. The PML-N had won all 12 of the total 13 national assembly seats and 26 of 27 PA seats of Lahore in the 2013 election. "Despite the strong criticism, Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif has changed the face of the city", he said.