Indian Super League Draft 2017: All You Need to Know


India worldwide midfielder Eugeneson Lyngdoh and defender Anas Edathodika would be among the most sought after ones when more than 200 footballers go under the hammer during the Indian Super League Players Draft. All teams were given the option of retaining a maximum of two senior players, and up to three U-21 players, from the 2016 squads.

The only exception there is Chennaiyin FC, who have retained more than two India capped players.

The fourth season of ISL will see 10 teams competing for the coveted trophy and is expected to kick off on November 18.

Were the teams allowed to retain players? "Ruidas has been included only after consulting the AIFF", said a source who has been tracking the development for a while, indicating that the player will eventually get the nod to be freed from East Bengal's shackles. But while there is a Rs 12.5 crore cap on foreign signings, a franchise can spend freely on their domestic signings during the draft and then adjust the purse with their global players. They have not signed any Under-21 players and will enter the draft in the third round. Each franchise can spend a maximum of Rs 18 crore on player salaries. The sequence for selection of Player Draft rounds for each club will be determined by a draw of lots on Saturday evening. Akshay Joshy represents Sacred Heart in Kochi while Ajith Sivan is a midfielder for Nirmala College.The Player Draft will witness a total of 15 rounds. The Instant Trading Card can be used twice by a given team during the draft.

Teams will also have something called the Instant Trading Card, wherein the third round onwards, any club may, within 15 seconds of another club announcing a draft pick, press a buzzer and get a chance to propose, negotiate and close the deal with another team within a stipulated time.

Season 4 of ISL promises to be just as exciting as the previous seasons.

2015 champions Chennaiyin FC have retained the most number of India internationals, with the club having kept hold of Jeje Lalpekhlua, Karanjit Singh and Jerry Lalrinzuala. FC Pune City's Antonio Habas and Mumbai City FC's Alexandre Guimaraes continue from last season. As the result of this surprise move, names like sensational Kean Lewis, Milan Singh, Souvik Chakraborthy, Anas Edathodika go into the draft pool to be picked up by rival franchises.

Mumbai: It's a dream come true for three college boys who have emerged from the ambitious inaugural Reliance Foundation Youth Sports (RFYS) campus football championship.