68399 ballot papers missing in Osun - PDP


Ademola Adeleke, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) front-runner in the Osun West Bye-Election, has said that he is confident that he will win.

According to the results released by INEC, PDP won in Iwo Local Government Area with 12,547 votes, against APC's 12,205 votes; Ola Oluwa local government with 5, 618 votes, to APC's 5316 votes; and Ayedire local government with 5, 789 votes, to 5, 360 votes scored by APC.

The PDP candidate with 18,559 votes, led by a wide margin in Ede North Local Government Area as the APC candidate polled 2,784 votes.

TVC News Correspondent Ibrahim Alege who monitored the electoral process in Ede north, Ede south, Ayeddade, Irewole and Isokan local government areas reports that voters came out as early as 8 A.M.in the morning.

The same situation happened in Olorunsogo unit 2, Ward 10, in Egbedore local government, where the PDP scored 224 votes against APC's 107.

Collation of ward results of the bye-election began in earnest last night with voters anxiously waiting for confirmation of the final outcome from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

"I am hundred per cent optimistic of victory, I am convinced about the process to be credible, I have total confidence in the process", Adeleke said. This is a signal of the fact that I will carry the day.

PDP had posted wins in numerous early results announced at the polling units across the 10 local government areas of Osun West senatorial district. "We have just started as you can see".

When our correspondent got to Odeomu, in Ayedaade local government, many voters were seen, casting their votes.

THISDAY was informed that the thugs invaded the polling unit with unsafe weapons and attacked voters and some ad hoc electoral officers.

In a brief chat with newsmen, the former Minister for Youth Development, Senator Olasunkanmi Akinlabi, who is an indigene of Odeomu tasked the INEC to sustain the standard and credibility of electoral institution bequeathed to the commission by the immediate past administration.

Reports say that many voters defied the rains to cast their votes for their preferred candidate.

Adewale said the process had been peaceful and smooth.

APC won in only Ejigbo local government with 12,229 votes, to PDP's 9,723 votes. He then emerged PDP's senatorial candidate few weeks to the bye-election.