New Snapchat Feature Is Raising Safety Concerns

Share

Location sharing can be disabled, and in the Parents Guide, Snap explains location sharing is off by default and must be turned on by the user after downloading the new update.

When setting up the map feature on Snapchat, people can choose to share their location with only themselves in "Ghost Mode", with their friends or users can select certain friends to share their location with.

The feature is so exact it can pinpoint your location down to streets and buildings.

The new feature is said to be created to help friends meet up or attend events together but concerns have been raised regarding the potential abuse of the feature. "This sets up a potential scenario for stalking, harassment, and other risky activities with potentially harmful consequences".

It looks like Google Maps, except it lets you view your friends on a map as they Snap.


Freaked out yet? Don't worry- you can turn the feature of completely. And there are actual privacy and safety concerns when it comes to location sharing.

Should you have second thoughts about what setting you chose, you can always go back and change it. From there, you'll be able to make adjustments. "It is essentially the parent's phone and you have to go in there and see exactly what they're doing".

To edit your location settings, just tap the ⚙️ button in the top-right corner of the Map screen!

Childnet International, an children's internet safety advocacy group, released tips for how to safely use the Snap Map.

Select Friends: Choose specific friends to share your location with. "There are other apps that will track you and provide other users, or friends or buddies out there of your location". However, if you do submit a snap to the "Our Story" feature, there's the potential that it'll be accepted and people could know where you are.

Share