Wayne Gretzky to present Hart Trophy at NHL Awards


Earning his second Vezina Trophy was Columbus Blue Jackets goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky, who beat out Braden Holtby of the Washington Capitals and Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens for the honor given to the league's best goalie.

"I'm so proud to play in Edmonton, so proud to be an Oiler, and so proud to play with the guys", he said, after thanking family and Oilers management.

He joins Wayne Gretzky (1982-85, 1987) and Mark Messier (1990) as the only other Oilers to win the Ted Lindsay Award. "It was special to receive that award from him, because he was such an important player for the National Hockey League". Gretzky presented McDavid with the Hart Trophy. Or Mario Lemieux's National Hockey League in 1984, or Sidney Crosby in 2005. Playing in his 12th season in the NHL, Crosby scored an impressive 44 goals and 89 points in 75 games. The Young Stars Edition also features 20 Gold Plus Packs for Hockey Ultimate Team and a Rookie HUT item from a team of the player's choice.

And also by the rest of the players as well.

On a big night for Sidney Crosby, who was nominated for a pair of honors on the heels of a repeat Stanley Cup championship at Las Vegas' NHL awards on Wednesday night, it was the Edmonton Oilers' Connor McDavid who took home the biggest prize, becoming the youngest player to claim the Hart Trophy since Crosby did in 2007.

Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks poses with the James Norris Memorial Trophy after winning the award during the NHL Awards, Wednesday, June 21, 2017, in Las Vegas. He was revealed as the cover athlete for the EA Sports NHL 18 video game.

If McDavid wins, it would be a memorable moment as nine-time victor Gretzky presents the 20-year-old Oilers star with the trophy. Over the course of 82 games, the 2015 No. 1 overall pick racked up 30 goals and a league-high 70 assists to win the Art Ross Trophy as the league's top point-scorer. If that seems slim, consider this: only eight players are in that group, with Crosby, Evgeni Malkin and Alex Ovechkin reaching triple figures three times each, and Henrik Sedin, Daniel Sedin, Patrick Kane, Nicklas Backstrom and McDavid each reaching the 100-point plateau once.

Of all the awards McDavid has won, the Lindsay Award is perhaps the most significant because it's voted on by his peers.

"That's the way I play the game", Burns said.

They're chasing him now.